Update on refreshing PCN governance

Feb 22, 2023

The PCN Governance Transition Working Group (TWG) is meeting regularly and actively developing recommendations to support the refresh. The group is working towards a deadline of March 15th. While the TWG completes their work, PCNs should not pause work underway. PCN partners should continue to work collaboratively, making decisions together, until the FPSC co-chairs review the recommendations and communicate decisions about next steps.

Thank you to everyone who volunteered to participate in the TWG:

  • Regional health authorities: Bryn Fominoff (Fraser Health), Jason Giesbrecht (Interior Health), Kelly Gunn (Norther Health), Yasmin Jetha (Vancouver Coastal Health) and Shelly Tice (Island Health)
  • First Nations Health Authority: John Mah and Lisa Montgomery-Reid
  • Family physicians from divisions of family practice: Dr Dean Brown (North Shore; Vancouver Coastal), Dr Melissa Duff (Victoria; Island), Dr Kevin Hill (South Okanagan Similkameen; Interior), Dr Paras Mehta (Fraser Northwest; Fraser), Dr Khurum Saif (Prince George; North),
  • Division of Family Practice Executive Directors: Dave Baspaly (Vancouver), Andrew Earnshaw (Kootenay Boundary) and Colleen Enns (Pacific Northwest)
  • Doctors of BC: Dr Brenda Hefford
  • PCN Managers: Gavin Arthur (Comox Valley) and Andrea Mainer (Chilliwack)
  • Family Practice Services Committee: Dr Janet Evans
  • Nurse Practitioner: Danielle Daigle

Since 2018, communities across BC have worked to create PCNs, which are networks of clinics providing longitudinal primary care in a geographical area, linked with primary care services delivered by community organizations or health authorities. The vision for PCNs remains unchanged: An integrated system of primary and community care that wraps around patients, families and caregivers while decreasing burden on primary care providers.

Any questions about the PCN Governance Refresh can be directed to the PCN Governance Transition Working Group at pcn@doctorsofbc.ca.